New Appointments for Port of Melbourne Board (VIC)

Minister for Ports Denis Napthine today welcomed a new chairman and a new board member to the Port of Melbourne Corporation.

Dr Napthine said the new chairman Mr Mark Birrell and board member Ms Janice van Reyk, along with the existing board, would be tasked with continuing to build upon the solid foundation left by retiring chairman Bill Scales AO.

"I am pleased to appoint Mark Birrell as the new chairman. Mr Birrell has a strong legal and public policy background to go with his extensive experience on a wide range of boards," Dr Napthine said. "Mr Birrell was appointed by the federal Labor Government as the Chairman of Infrastructure Australia in 2008 and re-appointed for a further term in 2011."